View Current

Terms of Reference - Honorary Awards Committee Rule

This is the current version of this document. To view historic versions, click the link in the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Purpose and Scope


(1) The purpose of this Rule is to define terms of reference for the Honorary Awards Committee.


(2) This Rule applies to the members and operation of the Honorary Awards Committee.

Top of Page

Section 2 - Terms of Reference


(3) The Honorary Awards Committee assists the Southern Cross University Council in exercising due care, diligence and skill in discharging Council's responsibilities by:

  1. advising Council on the criteria and procedures for awarding honorary degrees and honorary titles;
  2. on behalf of Council, receiving nominations for consideration for the conferring of an honorary award or honorary title and the conferring of emeritus professorships;
  3. making recommendations to Council concerning the conferring of honorary awards, honorary titles and emeritus professorships, their number, frequency, and the individuals to be honoured; and
  4. considering nominating person to the Order of Australia as appropriate.


(4) The membership of the Committee consists of:

  1. Chancellor (Chair)
  2. Deputy Chancellor
  3. Vice Chancellor
  4. Chair, Academic Board
  5. Two Council members

(5) The Chancellor invites members to the Committee and all appointments are endorsed by Council.

(6) As far as practicable, members should be appointed based on relevant background, expertise and qualifications.


(7) A quorum shall consist of not less than half of the Committee members.


(8) The Committee shall meet as required.

Current Membership

(9) Ms Sandra McPhee AM, Chancellor (Chair)

(10) Mr Murray d'Almeida, Deputy Chancellor

(11) Professor Tyrone Carlin, Vice Chancellor

(12) Professor Andrew Rose, Chair of Academic Board

(13) Dr Renaud Joannes-Boyau

(14) Dr Austin Curtin